CMA Awards 2023 : Full Winner Roster, Featuring Lainey Wilson as the New Entertainer of the Year

CMA Awards 2023

Luke Combs garnered two accolades for his rendition of Tracy Chapman’s iconic ‘Fast Car.’ Jelly Roll took home the title of best new artist. Wilson, however, stood out, securing the album of the year and female vocalist honors, in addition to a pair of awards for her joint effort with Hardy.

CMA Awards 2023
CMA Awards 2023

Lainey Wilson swiftly captured the esteemed entertainer of the year title at the CA Awards, achieving this feat in just her second year of nominations and her first for the premier award. The ascending talent triumphed, clinching the album of the year and female vocalist of the year, along with accolades for music video of the year and music event of the year, both in partnership with Hardy.

Initially, the spotlight at Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena centered on Luke Combs’ rendition of Tracy Chapman’s “Fast Car,” which clinched the first two televised awards for single of the year and song of the year.

Chapman was absent, yet presenter Sara Evans conveyed a message from the artist, expressing regret for not being present and gratitude for the recognition of her song 35 years post-release. Combs, accepting the single of the year award, expressed his gratitude towards Tracy Chapman for creating what he considers one of the greatest songs ever, noting it was his earliest favorite.

Jelly Roll emerged as the new artist of the year in a fiercely contested category. During his speech, he acknowledged the commercially thriving Zach Bryan, declaring, “Zach Bryan, I believe you’re one of the most incredible phenomena, beyond just country music.” He continued with an almost sermon-like fervor, stating, “It’s quite poetic for a man of 39 to be named new artist of the year… The future holds more significance than the past. Let’s celebrate, Nashville!”

Chris Stapleton secured the male vocalist award for the seventh occasion, modestly remarking, “I’ve received a few of these,” and expressing his perennial humility at the wins. He gave a heartfelt thanks to his wife, Morgane Stapleton, stating, “None of this happens without her. And these awards wouldn’t come my way without her by my side.” Stapleton also paid tribute to two friends he lost this year, including Mike Henderson, his erstwhile colleague from the Steel Drivers, crediting Henderson with educating him in the craft of songwriting.

The Brothers Osborne claimed the vocal duo of the year title for the sixth instance, with T.J. Osborne humorously commenting, “It’s truly surprising, every time we win this. I was half-expecting Lainey Wilson and Hardy to take this one.” Likewise, Old Dominion maintained their stronghold on the group of the year category, securing the honor for the sixth year in a row.

The opening act of the show featured Jelly Roll, who surprised the audience with an unexpected appearance by Wynonna Judd. Together, they delivered a spirited rendition of “Need a Favor,” accompanied by a gospel choir. In another unanticipated performance, Wallen joined forces with Eric Church to perform their collaborative track “Man Made a Bar,” from Wallen’s hit album “One Thing at a Time.” Both Wallen and Jelly Roll are scheduled for additional performances within the three-hour broadcast; Wallen is set to pay tribute to Wynonna by performing “Love Can Build a Bridge,” a duet with K. Michelle, originally by the Judds.

Wilson entered the awards ceremony as the top nominee, boasting nine nominations. Jelly Roll followed as the second most-nominated artist, securing five nods. Both Combs and Hardy were also in contention with four nominations each.

The evening’s lineup features a blend of country staples performed by Post Malone and Morgan Wallen, along with a tribute to the recently passed Jimmy Buffett. This homage will see performances by Kenny Chesney, Alan Jackson, Zac Brown, and Buffett’s long-time collaborator, Mac McAnally.

Individual performances from the CMAs are available on YouTube, with the full show set to be released on Hulu on Thursday.

Winners are highlighted in bold within their respective categories.

Single of The Year

Award goes to Producers, Artists,  and Mix Engineers

  • “Heart Like a Truck” – Lainey Wilson
    Producer: Jay Joyce
    Mix Engineers: Jason Hall, Jay Joyce
  • “Need A Favor” – Jelly Roll
    Producer: Austin Nivarel
    Mix Engineer: Jeff Braun
  • “Wait in the Truck” – Hardy (feat. Lainey Wilson)
    Producers: Hardy, Joey Moi, Jordan Schmidt, Derek Wells
    Mix Engineer: Joey Moi
  • “Fast Car” – Luke Combs
    Producers: Luke Combs, Chip Matthews, Jonathan Singleton
    Mix Engineer: Chip Matthews
  • “Next Thing You Know” – Jordan Davis
    Producer: Paul DiGiovanni
    Mix Engineer: Jim Cooley

Album of The Year

Award goes to Producers, Artists,  and Mix Engineers

  • Bell Bottom Country – Lainey Wilson
    Producer: Jay Joyce
    Mix Engineers: Jason Hall, Jay Joyce
  • Ashley McBryde Presents: Lindeville – Ashley McBryde
    Producers: John Osborne, John Peets
    Mix Engineers: Gena Johnson, John Osborne
  • One Thing At A Time – Morgan Wallen
    Producers: Jacob Durrett, Charlie Handsome, Joey Moi, Cameron Montgomery
    Mix Engineers: Josh Ditty, Joey Moi, Eivind Nordland
  • Gettin’ Old – Luke Combs
    Producers: Luke Combs, Chip Matthews, Jonathan Singleton
    Mix Engineers: Michael H. Brauer, Jim Cooley, Chip Matthews
  • Rolling Up the Welcome Mat – Kelsea Ballerini
    Producers: Kelsea Ballerini, Alysa Vanderheym
    Mix Engineers: Dan Grech-Marguerat, Alysa Vanderheym

Song of The Year

Award goes to Songwriters

  • “Wait in the Truck”
    Songwriters: Renee Blair, Michael Hardy, Hunter Phelps, Jordan Schmidt
  • “Heart Like A Truck”
    Songwriters: Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson, Lainey Wilson
  • “Next Thing You Know”
    Songwriters: Jordan Davis, Greylan James, Chase McGill, Josh Osborne
  • “Tennessee Orange”
  • “Fast Car”
    Songwriter: Tracy Chapman
    Songwriters: David Fanning, Paul Jenkins, Megan Moroney, Ben Williams

Entertainer of The Year

  • Lainey Wilson
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Morgan Wallen
  • Carrie Underwood
  • Luke Combs

Male Vocalist of The Year

  • Chris Stapleton
  • Luke Combs
  • Cody Johnson
  • Jelly Roll
  • Morgan Wallen

Female Vocalist of The Year

  • Miranda Lambert
  • Lainey Wilson
  • Ashley McBryde
  • Carly Pearce
  • Kelsea Ballerini

Vocal Group of The Year

  • Lady A
  • Old Dominion
  • Midland
  • Little Big Town
  • Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo of The Year

  • Brothers Osborne
  • Brooks & Dunn
  • Maddie & Tae
  • Dan + Shay
  • The War And Treaty

Musical Event of The Year 

Award goes to Artists and Producers

  • “Save Me” – Jelly Roll (with Lainey Wilson)

         Producers: Zach Crowell, David Ray Stevens

  • “She Had Me At Heads Carolina (Remix)” – Cole Swindell & Jo Dee Messina

         Producer: Zach Crowell

  • “We Don’t Fight Anymore” – Carly Pearce (featuring Chris Stapleton)

         Producers: Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne, Carly Pearce

  • “Thank God” – Kane Brown (with Katelyn Brown)

          Producer: Dann Huff

  • “Wait in the Truck” – Hardy (feat. Lainey Wilson)

        Producers: Hardy, Joey Moi, Jordan Schmidt, Derek Wells

Musician of The Year

  • Rob McNelley
  • Jenee Fleenor
  • Paul Franklin
  • Derek Wells
  • Charlie Worsham

Music Video of The Year 

Award goes to Artists and Directors

  • “Wait in the Truck” – Hardy (feat. Lainey Wilson)

         Director: Justin Clough

  • “Light On In The Kitchen” – Ashley McBryde

         Director: Reid Long

  • “Next Thing You Know” – Jordan Davis

         Director: Running Bear

  • “Memory Lane” – Old Dominion

         Directors: Mason Allen, Nicki Fletcher

  • “Need A Favor” – Jelly Roll

         Director: Patrick Tohill

New Artist of The Year

  • Megan Moroney
  • Zach Bryan
  • Parker McCollum
  • Jelly Roll
  • Hailey Whitters


Leave a Comment